Cow’s milk allergy symptoms normally appear early in childhood, but adults can become allergic to milk later in life but uncommon. Children with milk allergy is present in the 1st of the child, introduction of cow’s milk or cow’s milk-based formula, it usually resolves by school age. Most children who is allergic to milk may develop gastrointestinal symptoms, skin problems and respiratory symptoms. If you think your child is allergic to milk speak to a medical professional before introducing any milk products.
A lactose intolerance is different, a lactose intolerance means you cannot digest a milk sugar. Lactose intolerance can cause uncomfortable and painful symptoms but is not life-threatening. People with milk allergy cannot have lactose free products.
This list is a guidance, included in this list is possible allergen, please check labels.
You may be allergic to traces of amount of the allergen, below are a few statements companies use to make you aware that the allergen is used onsite or on the same machinery. If your food allergy is severe, please look for the following statements on food labelling to avoid anaphylaxis by cross contamination. Also, be aware that companies do not have to put this statement on their labels by law, if you have a reaction to a product avoid using that food product in the future. It might be worth to contact the company if you have had a reaction, and there is no allergen or Precautionary Allergen Labelling. Contacting the company, they can check their safety onsite, or they find an ingredient has been put in error into the food product and put a food recall in place.
If you are uncertain about a product, contact the company to clarify before using the food product.
- May contain.
- Produced in a factory.
- May contain X.
- Not suitable for someone with X allergy
- May contain traces of ..
Foods from abroad has been included in this list, this is for guidance for the traveller.
Understanding of Food Labelling Terms Used to Indicate the Absence or Reduction of Lactose, Milk or Dairy Food Standards Agency
If you would like food recall alerts directly sent to your email, please use the contact page you will be added to the next food recall alert. Please check the GDPR page, to see how your details are stored.
|Alcoholic cocktails (some)|
|Bottled water that are flavoured or protein enriched|
|High energy drinks and powders with added protein e.g, fortisips|
|High protein fruit juice drinks|
|Milk / including condensed, derivative, dry, evaporated, goat’s milk and milk from other animals, low-fat, malted, milkfat, non-fat, powder, protein, skimmed, solids, whole|
|Artificial butter flavour|
|Au gratin dishes and white sauces|
|Baked goods — bread, cookies, crackers, cakes|
|Batter and dipped vegetables|
|Bread – some|
|Brown sugar flavour|
|Caramel or butterscotch desserts|
|Caseinates (in all forms)|
|Chicken some meat are plumped with milk|
|Commercial entrees made with milk or milk solids|
|Creamed or scalloped foods|
|eggs Scrambled with milk|
|French toast made with milk|
|Frozen French fries sprayed with lactose|
|Fudge / caramels|
|Grilled steaks restaurants put butter on add extra flavour|
|Hamburgers (unless made without milk)|
|High energy foods and powders with added protein|
|High protein flour|
|Hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, whey protein)|
|imitation sour cream|
|Infant baby cereals/infant formula, follow-up formula, nutrition supplements for toddlers and children|
|Infant rusks/rice cereals|
|Instant mashed potatoes|
|Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate|
|Lactic acid starter culture and other bacterial cultures|
|Meats — canned and processed, including cold cuts and deli meats|
|Milk ice blocks|
|Milk protein hydrolysate|
|Non-dairy products (may contain casein)|
|Rennet, rennet casein|
|Sausages, which may use the milk protein casein as a binder|
|Scrambled with milk, creamed eggs, egg substitutes|
|Shellfish are sometimes dipped in milk to reduce the fishy odour. Ask questions when buying shellfish.|
|Sour cream, sour cream solids,|
|Tuna fish, as some brands contain casein|
|vegetarian cheeses with casein|
|Wheat, white, or rye breads|
|Whey (in all forms)|
|Whey protein hydrolysate|
|Yoghurt / frozen yoghurt|
|Mayonnaise containing milk|
|Lactose in ingredients|
|Toothpaste Recaldent – milk|
This information is only given as guidance and not extensive. Information to be used at individual’s responsibility. Always read the label. Always seek medical advice.
© All material on these pages, including without limitation text, logos, icons, photographs, and all other artwork is copyright material of British Food Allergy Awareness, unless otherwise stated.